Related Accreditations for Global Wireless Type Approvals »

  • FCC – Telecommunications Certification Body (TCB)
  • FCC – Designated Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) Lab
  • Industry Canada – Radio and Terminal Equipment
  • Australia ACMA – National Voluntary Australian Communications Authority
  • EU Notified Body -RED Directive
  • A2LA – ISO/IEC 17025:2005
  • Japan VCCI – IT and Telecom Equipment
  • Korea KCC – Radio Research Agency (RRA)
  • Vietnam MIC – MRA Recognized Lab
  • Taiwan BSMI – EMC Testing
  • EPCglobal Inc. – Official Test lab for hardware/software certification
  • Verizon ITL – Independent Testing Laboratory

Related Pages and Testing Capabilities


What is an International Type Approval?

International Type Approvals or ITAs are the various in-country requirements that a device must meet before a product can be sold within a specific region. Type approval requirements vary from country to country, each of which must be met to obtain product approval for wireless devices in the relevant country. Compliant products are awarded with a Certificate of Conformity for the applicable regulations, allowing market entry into the country in question.

Why do Countries Adopt Type Approval Requirements?
Countries adopt varying approval requirements to maintain current device infrastructures and protect the public at large. While internationally harmonized standards are often the basis of most in-country standards, key variations are adopted by in-country regulatory oversight bodies to better serve the unique regional needs of a country. Generally, countries adopt type approval regulatory requirements in order to ensure:

  • Environmental Protection During Device Lifespan
  • User Safety
  • Electromagnetic Compatibility
  • Radio Spectrum Usage